retro is the new modern.

FACT: I love lovvvveeeeeeee cameras!
Where shall I start? The camera-loving began with the awesome top of the range Canon Powershot s40 (i think) 5 MEGAPIXEL point and shoot camera. Then decided to downside to some little Pentax… to the Lomo film cameras….then my first pro-sumer camera Ricoh GX100 and in New Years earlier this year, I finally took the big plunge to get a DSLR!! W00TTT

Probably the ultimate camera that a camera collector aspires to is a Leica. I’m sure a lot of people can’t justify paying $8000 – $10 000 for an M8 or M9 Rangefinder camera, let alone about $30 000 for a Leica S2. But, the white edition M8 is to die for!! Leica actually updates their camera in really long intervals compared to all the other camera manufacturers: about 10 years on average between major upgrades.

Leica’s first digital rangefinder: Leica M8
in Limited Edition White
leica-m8-white-limited-edition
M8_Back
M8_Top

This is the newest release by Leica, the M9.
leica-m9_1
leica-m9_2

____
Recently, there has been a new market of cameras: Micro Four-Thirds. Think of it as kinda a transition between Pro-sumer and Digital SLRs. I love the retro design of these cameras and the picture quality is definitely on par with the some of the DSLRs out there. I suppose you can say these are more “affordable” than the Leicas above with the price at the moment between $900 – $1500.

Olympus PEN EP-1
New Micro Four-Thirds
olympus-ep-1_1
olympus_pen_ep-1-590x272

Panasonic DMC GF-1
panasonic_gf1-469x400
panasonic-gf1-system-camera
panasonic-gf1-color-options

—–

There are also those classic cameras like the Rolleiflex Twin Lens Medium Format Camera. These were first made in 1929 and I’m sure if you watch really old black and white films, you’ll see one of these.
Rolleiflex 2.8F
Rolleiflex 2.8F

Rollei have tried to follow the digital trend as well with the MiniDigi. Although it has only 3 megapixels and a 1.1 inch screen, I would get it simply because its a Rollei!
minidigi_red2-custom
rolleiflex-mini

Currently, I’m on the look out for a film SLR. Can anyone point me to a decent one? I reeeally realllyyy want a Rolleiflex too!! Browsing on flickr for photos of cameras is not doing me any good.

